TREVOR CORSON – INDIVIDUAL POST MORTEM

This whole senior project has certainly been a roller coaster. Sometimes things would be on schedule and happy while other days would contain last minute stressful submissions.

Fall Term

The first term was slightly mixed for me. Not necessarily the work load or knowing what to get done, but the project itself. I was still very confused with the style and some of the plot details that I didn’t necessarily have faith entirely set on what I was completing. I ended up getting confused a lot with our inspirations and what to reference. Further into the weeks however I started to understand it a lot more. I modeled a lot of objects and worked closely with the others on the modeling team. I contributed the majority of buildings and objects found in the parlor and post office. (Those a majority of these objects were later scrapped due to the post office being cut). It was an interesting term but overall a fun one. Modeling is where I feel most comfortable so creating a lot of models was a lot of fun. It even ended on a high note, with our advisor praising us.

Winter Term

Winter term is when things became stressful quickly. We became more professional by setting up additional meetings divided up into different sections. I took control of the modeling and texturing the majority of the parlor: The room itself (modeled, the wallpaper was done by Joe however), mantel, cabinet, chandelier, base boards, crown molding, windows, desk, chairs, stairs, etc. As mentioned before I felt very comfortable in this area and did this for the majority of the term. But deadlines started to become quicker and critiques became much harsher. After a while however the majority of models were done and I was left with fixing small things here and there. It didn’t end on a high note though, as our progress raised some concerns and left us all defeat. It was a wake up call to all of us.

Spring Term

This term was probably my least favorite in terms of work. I was thrown around a lot doing different things I was very unfamiliar with, specifically cleaning up motions. There was a lot of confusion on how to handle scenes, where to grab things, what settings to use, etc. One time I was assigned to work on cleaning up motions for several hours, only to find out that those motions were already clean. There were some times that I’d be given a task very late at night at the last minute with only my personal computer to take care of the task. Now of course I’m willing to help out for the project and willing to do what needs to get done as best as I can, but it does hurt morale sometimes. Not to mention it’s hard being a commuter and trying to fulfill some of these tasks.

 

Overall I’m glad to have worked on this project and great-full of all the things I’ve learned, despite it being very stressful numerous times. I wish I could’ve been more helpful at times but I also feel like I contributed a lot as well looking back. If my circumstances were better I feel like I would contribute a lot more.

Leave a comment